International Symposia on Fish Parasites

International Committee

 

Return to main page

Report of the ISFP Committee

(Chaired by Marcelo Oliva  -  Chile)

International Committee
IX International Symposium on Fish Parasites
Valencia (Spain), 31st August-4th September, 2015



Chairman: Marcelo Oliva - Chile - meoliva@uantof.cl
Local Chairman: Toni Raga - Spain - raga@uv.es
Nico Smit - representative of Africa - nicos@uj.ac.za
Simonetta Mattiucci - representative of Southern Europe - simonetta.mattiucci@uniroma1.it
Tomás Scholz - representative of Eastern Europe tscholz@paru.cas.cz
Juan Timi - representative of South America - jtimi@mdp.edu.ar

Representatives who were not able to attend the meeting:
Arne Levsen - representative of Northern Europe - Arne.Levsen@nifes.no
Ian Whittington - representative of Australia (deceased).

A session into the programme was devoted to the presentation of three bids for the next meeting (10 ISFP, in 2019).
These were:

    USA - College of Charleston, Charleston (Isaure de Buron)
    Czech Republic - Masaryk University, Brno (Milan Gelnar)
    Australia - The University of Queensland, Brisbane (Tom Cribb)

After the public presentations, in the absence of two of the representatives, in order to better evaluate the bids for the next Symposium and to have a more broad-based discussion, the International Committee invited two the future representative from Africa and Australia to attend the meeting. These were: Barbara Nowak - b.nowak@utas.edu.au and Linda Basson - bassonl@ufs.ac.za.

In the deliberation, the Committee evaluated several aspects of each bid, such as the locality, infrastructure, likelihood of financial support, local research group field, accessibility to students, visa requirements and potential prices, among others.

After taking these criteria into account, the following votes were cast:
Marcelo Oliva (Australia), Nico Smit (Australia), Simonetta Mattiucci (Australia), Tomas Scholz (USA), Juan Timi (Australia), Toni Raga (Australia), Hiroshi Yokoyama (Australia), Barbara Nowak (Australia) and Linda Basson (Australia). Australia was chosen by a majority decision and formally announced to the participants in the closing session of the meeting.

The committee proceeded to include new representatives to replace some members after serving for two symposium terms: Monica Caffara - Italy (replacing Simonetta Mattiucci), Milan Gelnar - Czech Republic (replacing Tomas Scholz), Linda Basson - South Africa (replacing Nico Smit) and Barbara Nowak - Australia (replacing Ian Whittington). Isaure de Buron - USA (as representative of North America) was also included by a unanimous decision. The new ISFP committee was also presented in the closing session of the meeting.

The Committee for ISFP IX in Australia 2019 will be :

Toni Raga - Committee Chairman
Tom Cribb - Local Chairman
Barbara Nowak - Australia
Monica Caffara - Italy
Isaure De Buron-Connors - USA
Linda Basson - South Africa
Milan Gelnar - Czech Republic
Hiroshi Yokoyama - Asia (replacing T. Yoshinaga)
Juan Timi - Argentina - (replacing Cláudia Portes Santos)
Arne Levsen - Norway - (replacing Kurt Buchmann)

 
 
David Gibson - 2015